Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan is the bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, the Kane Chronicles, and the Heroes of Olympus. He is also the author of the multi-award-winning Tres Navarre mystery series for adults.


For fifteen years, Rick taught English and history at public and private middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Texas. In 2002, Saint Mary’s Hall honored him with the school’s first Master Teacher Award.

While teaching full time, Riordan began writing mystery novels for grownups. His Tres Navarre series went on to win the top three national awards in the mystery genre – the Edgar, the Anthony and the Shamus.

Riordan turned to children’s fiction when he started The Lightning Thief as a bedtime story for his oldest son. He says that the idea for Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief first came to him while he was teaching Greek mythology at middle school in San Francisco.

But rumor has it that Camp Half Blood actually exists, and Rick spends his summers there recording the adventures of young demigods. Some believe that, to avoid a mass panic among the mortal population, he was forced to swear on the River Styx to present Percy Jackson’s story as fiction.

Rick lives in Texas (apart from his summers on Half Blood Hill) with his wife and two sons. Today over 35 million copies of his Percy Jackson, Kane Chronicles, and Heroes of Olympus books are in print in the United States, and rights have been sold into more than 35 countries. Rick is also the author of The 39 Clues: The Maze of Bones, another #1 New York Times bestseller. Rick Riordan now writes full-time. He lives in Boston with his wife and two sons.

Order of Rick Riordan Books by Series

Percy Jackson and The Olympians

In this series, the Oracle of Delphi gives a quest to the main character of the book, Percy Jackson. He must complete the tasks in order to avoid grave consequences. The Percy Jackson books each have one quest that becomes more dangerous. The story revolved around Percy, his friends Annabeth and Grover, and their life in and beyond Camp Half-Blood.

Percy Jackson Books in Order
  • Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief (2006)
  • The Sea of Monsters (2007)
  • The Titan’s Curse (2008)
  • The Battle of the Labyrinth (2009)
  • The Last Olympian (2011)
  • From the World of Percy Jackson: The Sun and the Star (2023) (Nico Di Angelo Adventures)
    • As the son of Hades, Nico di Angelo has been through so much, from the premature deaths of his mother and sister, to being outed against his will, to losing his friend Jason during the trials of Apollo. But there is a ray of sunshine in his life—literally: his boyfriend, Will Solace, the son of Apollo. Together the two demigods can overcome any obstacle or foe. At least, that’s been the case so far…

      Now a voice calling out to him from Tartarus, the lowest part of the Underworld plagues Nico. He thinks he knows who it is: a reformed Titan named Bob whom Percy and Annabeth had to leave behind when they escaped Hades’s realm. Nico’s dreams and Rachel Dare’s latest prophecy leave little doubt in Nico’s mind that Bob is in some kind of trouble. Nico has to go on this quest, whether Mr. D and Chiron like it or not. And of course Will insists on coming with. But can a being made of light survive in the darkest part of the world? And what does the prophecy mean that Nico will have to “leave something of equal value behind?” 

Kane Chronicles

Rick Riordan’s second series, The Kane Chronicles, is a series based on Egyptian mythology. Carter and Sadie Kane have been split up their entire lives and must learn to use their Egyptian magic to defeat Egyptian Gods and monsters to protect their home world.

Kane Chronicles Books in Order
  • The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles Book 1) (2010)
  • The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles Book 2) (2011)
  • The Serpents Shadow (The Kane Chronicles Book 3) (2012)

Heroes of Olympus

In this series, each chapter is told from the point of view of different characters. Percy and Jason are two of the main characters and both of them have lost their memories. They are sent to two different camps (Greek and Roman) where they make friends and enlist their friends to help them on their quests.

Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus Books in Order
  • The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) (2011)
  • The Sun of Neptune (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 2)(2011)
  • The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 3) (2012)
  • The House of Haites (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 4) (2013)
  • The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 5) (2014)

Magnus Chase

The fourth series of books by Rick Riordan, Magnus Chase, is based on Norse Mythology. Magnus Chase dies in battle and is brought to Valhalla where he is given the task of bringing back a powerful weapon to keep the monsters at bay and stop Ragnarok from destroying everything.

Rick Riordan’s Magnus Chase Books in Order
  • The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 1) (2015)
  • The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 2) (2016)
  • The Ship of the dead (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 3) (2017)

Trials of Apollo

The Trials of Apollo is the fifth series written by Rick Riordan. In these 5 books, Apollo is sent to earth as a mortal. In order to obtain his immortality, Apollo is sent on five different quests by the god Zeus. He is helped by his companion, Meg who is the daughter of Demeter.

Rick Riordan’s Trials of Apollo Books in Order
  • The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, Book 1) (2016)
  • The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo, Book 2) (2017)
  • The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, Book 3) (2018)
  • The Tyrants Tomb (The Trials of Apollo, Book 4) (2019)
  • The Tower or Nero (The Trials of Apollo, Book 5) (2020)

Daughters of the Deep

This book is the newest in a series of ya fantasy books by Rick Riordan. Ana and her brother Dev are students at Harding Pencfoft Academy, a school that specializes in marine science. When Ana heads out on an expedition, the school is bombed and Ana believes everyone has died.

With only her brother left in her family, Ana is desperate to find out what happened and who bombed the school. The Professor who accompanied them on the trip informs them that Land Institute and H-P have been fighting in a war for over 150 years.

%d bloggers like this: