The Stormlight Archive Series

The Stormlight Archive Series

Brandon Sanderson’s epic fantasy, The Stormlight Archive Series, tells the story of Roshar, a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain. It has been centuries since the fall of the ten consecrated orders known as the Knights Radiant, but their Shardblades and Shardplate remain: mystical swords and suits of armor that transform ordinary men into near-invincible warriors. As brutal wars rage over the control of these magical weapons, an ancient text called The Way of Kings tells of ancient times, the Knights Radiant, and perhaps the true cause of the war. The Knights Radiant must stand again.

Overview of The Stormlight Archive Series

The Stormlight Archive begins with “The Way of Kings,” introducing readers to the shattered world of Roshar, a land frequently ravaged by devastating storms. The story follows multiple compelling viewpoints, each focusing on a diverse cast of characters, including Kaladin, a former surgeon turned slave, Dalinar Kholin, a high-ranking noble seeking redemption, and Shallan Davar, a young scholar with a mysterious past.

Throughout the series, Sanderson weaves an intricate narrative that incorporates themes of leadership, honor, the consequences of war, and the struggle against despair. As characters battle personal demons and confront the daunting challenges facing their world, they gradually become intertwined in a cosmic conflict that transcends time and space.

Key Literary Elements
  1. World-Building: Sanderson’s world-building is a masterpiece in itself. He crafts a unique and immersive world, where the flora, fauna, and cultures are distinct and intricately connected. Roshar’s vibrant ecosystem, the magical system of Surgebinding, and the enigmatic beings known as the spren all contribute to the series’ richness and depth.
  2. Character Development: The Stormlight Archive’s characters are multi-dimensional and undergo profound growth throughout the series. Each viewpoint offers insight into the characters’ inner struggles, fears, and motivations, making them relatable and deeply human.
  3. Themes of Leadership and Honor: Central to the series are themes of leadership and honor. Characters grapple with the responsibilities of leadership, the sacrifices required for the greater good, and the moral complexities of their decisions.
  4. Complex Magic System: The magical system, known as Surgebinding, is intricately detailed and woven into the fabric of the world. Surgebinders, individuals capable of wielding these powers, play a crucial role in the series’ plot, and Sanderson masterfully explores the ethical implications of their abilities.
  5. Plot Structure: Sanderson expertly weaves together multiple plotlines and viewpoints, creating a tapestry of interconnected stories that culminate in breathtaking climaxes and revelations.
Literary Analysis

The Stormlight Archive series stands as a testament to Brandon Sanderson’s unparalleled skill as a fantasy author. Through intricate world-building, dynamic character arcs, and thought-provoking themes, Sanderson crafts a narrative that immerses readers in a world of wonder and imagination.

One of the series’ greatest strengths lies in its exploration of humanity’s resilience and capacity for growth amidst adversity. Characters like Kaladin and Shallan grapple with deep emotional wounds and inner turmoil, making their journeys of self-discovery and redemption particularly compelling.

Furthermore, Sanderson’s exploration of leadership and honor is nuanced and thought-provoking. He challenges traditional notions of heroism and highlights the complexity of making difficult choices in times of crisis.

Brandon Sanderson Biography

Brandon Sanderson was born in December 19, 1975 in Lincoln, Nebraska. As a child Brandon enjoyed reading, but he lost interest in the types of titles often suggested for him, and by junior high he never cracked a book if he could help it. This all changed in eighth grade when an astute teacher, Mrs. Reeder, gave Brandon Dragonsbane by Barbara Hambly. Brandon thoroughly enjoyed this book, and went in search of anything similar. He discovered such authors as Robert Jordan, Melanie Rawn, David Eddings, Anne McCaffrey, and Orson Scott Card. Brandon continued to be an avid reader through junior high and high school. He liked epic fantasy so much that he even tried his hand at writing some. His first attempts, he says, were dreadful.

Brandon began writing in earnest, taking a job as the night desk clerk at a hotel because they allowed him to write while at work. During this era he went to school full time during the day, worked nights to pay for his schooling, and wrote as much as he could. He says it made for a rather dismal social life, but he finished seven novels during his undergraduate years. Brandon submitted many manuscripts for publication . . . and accumulated quite a pile of rejection letters. In spite of this he continued to be a dedicated writer.

Volunteering for The Leading Edge, BYU’s science fiction/fantasy magazine, was a wonderful experience for Brandon. He read many submissions, formed some lifelong friendships, and served as Editor in Chief during his senior year.

The Breakthrough

Brandon learned much about the business side of being a writer by taking a class from David Farland, author of the popular Runelords series. One piece of advice Dave gave Brandon was to attend conventions, such as WorldCon and World Fantasy, in order to connect with industry professionals. Brandon and a small group of friends who were also aspiring writers began to do so. He eventually met both his current agent and one of his editors at conventions.

It was in 2003, while Brandon was in the middle of a graduate program at BYU, that he got a call from editor Moshe Feder at Tor, who wanted to buy one of Brandon’s books. Brandon had submitted the manuscript a year and a half earlier, and had almost given up on hearing anything, so he was surprised and delighted to receive the offer. In May 2005 Brandon held his first published novel,Elantris, in his hands. Over the next few years, Tor also published Brandon’s Mistborn trilogy, its followup The Alloy of LawWarbreaker, and The Way of Kings, the first in a projected ten-volume series called The Stormlight Archive. The second book in the series, Words of Radiance, was released on March 4th, 2014. Other projects continue to be in the works.

%d bloggers like this: