The Three-act Structure

The three-act structure is a popular storytelling technique used in literature and film to create a well-paced and engaging narrative. First, I’d like to note that The notion of threeact storytelling traces back to Aristotle, who theorized on story beats in Poetics. Nonetheless, it is hardly the only framework out there: I’m sure you’ve heard of the four and the five act structure. The five-act structure is a formula that breaks a story into distinct sections: the exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution.

The five act structure also has its roots in Aristotle’s Poetics and Horace’s Ars Poetic. Both structures are valuable tools for novelists and screenwriters working on movies or TV pilots. Yet Aristotle stresses that plots should be structured logically and in a manner that follows a beginning, middle, and end. This can be found in storytelling throughout literature and cinema.

Here’s a step-by-step guide to the three-act structure along with literary examples from various genres:

woman wearing stage costume reflected in mirror. The Three-act Structure

Act 1 – The Setup

  1. Introduce the Protagonist: Introduce your main character, their goals, and their ordinary world. Set the stage for the protagonist’s journey. This helps readers or viewers establish a connection with the protagonist and understand their motivations and desires.

Example: “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” by J.K. Rowling introduces Harry Potter, a young orphan living with his cruel relatives, unaware of his magical heritage.

  1. Inciting Incident: Present a pivotal event that disrupts the protagonist’s ordinary life and sets the story in motion. It creates a problem or challenge that the protagonist must address, pulling them into the central conflict.

Example: In “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins, the inciting incident is when Katniss Everdeen volunteers to take her sister’s place in the deadly Hunger Games.

  1. Establish the Conflict: Introduce the central conflict or problem that the protagonist must face throughout the story. It introduces the main problem or antagonist that the protagonist will face and sets the stage for the rest of the narrative.

Example: In George Orwell’s “1984,” the conflict is Winston Smith’s struggle against the oppressive totalitarian regime of Big Brother.

Act 2 – Confrontation

  1. Rising Action: Develop the story through a series of events and challenges that the protagonist faces while trying to overcome the conflict. The rising action comprises a series of events and challenges that the protagonist faces while trying to overcome the conflict. It builds tension and propels the story forward.

Example: In “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring” by J.R.R. Tolkien, the rising action follows Frodo Baggins and his companions as they embark on their journey to destroy the One Ring.

  1. Midpoint: The midpoint is a crucial turning point in the story, where a significant revelation or event occurs, changing the trajectory of the narrative. It adds complexity and raises the stakes for the protagonist.

Example: In “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen, the midpoint is when Mr. Darcy confesses his love for Elizabeth Bennet, altering the dynamics of their relationship.

  1. Obstacles and Complications: Raise the stakes and introduce more challenges and obstacles for the protagonist to overcome. These challenges test the character’s resolve and push them to their limits.

Example: In “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn, the protagonist faces a series of unexpected twists and revelations that complicate her investigation into her missing wife.

Act 3 – Resolution

  1. Climax: Build to the highest point of tension in the story, where the protagonist faces the central conflict head-on. Here, the protagonist faces the central conflict head-on, and the outcome of the story is determined. It is a moment of intense emotion and drama.

Example: In “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald, the climax occurs when Gatsby’s elaborate illusions and dreams come crashing down.

  1. Falling Action: Unravel the consequences of the climax and tie up loose ends in the story. It shows how the events of the climax affect the characters and their world.

Example: In “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee, the falling action involves the aftermath of the trial and the impact it has on the town.

  1. Denouement: Provide a sense of closure and resolution for the story, allowing the readers to understand the aftermath of the protagonist’s journey. Loose ends are tied up, and the readers or viewers get a glimpse of what happens to the characters after the main conflict is resolved.

Example: In “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” by C.S. Lewis, the denouement reveals the restoration of Narnia and the return of the Pevensie children to their own world.

Each act has its specific role in building tension, developing characters, and guiding the story towards a satisfying resolution. By following this structure, writers can craft compelling stories that resonate with readers and viewers across various genres.

Finally, remember, the three-act structure serves as a flexible framework for crafting compelling narratives across various genres. While these examples illustrate the key elements, feel free to adapt and modify the structure to suit the unique needs of your story.

On the screen

There is the setup of the character and their world, followed by a conflict that they are either forced to face or choose to take on, and then we’re led to the resolution. Movies like Star Wars, The Fugitive, Witness, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and Die Hard are perfect examples of the three-act structure.

%d bloggers like this: